Masochist
Power to hurt yourself
Tries to lose own ships
Masochist (FFG).jpg
FFG
Regroup
Wild
During any regroup phase, you may choose a player other than the offense. That player retrieves a ship from the warp instead of the offense. You may not use this flare if the offense’s ships are all in the warp or removed from the game.
Super
During each of your regroup phases, you may choose one of your ships in the warp and remove it from the game instead of retrieving it as usual.

Masochist is an alien with the power to Hurt Itself.

Masochist has an alternate winning condition - it wins the game if all of its ships are out of play (in the warp, captured, or removed from the game). It does not lose its power due to having too few home colonies, and it may still win the game via the normal method.

Text[edit | edit source]

 
Edition Power Text History
FFG You have the power to Hurt Yourself. At the start of any player's regroup phase, before the offense retrieves a ship from the warp, use this power to win the game if you have lost all of your ships. Lost ships include those in the warp, those removed from the game, and those captured by other players.
You do not lose this power because of having too few home colonies, and you may still win the game via the normal manner.
The Masochists suffer from a neurological disorder where they derive pleasure from self-flagellation. However, some are beginning to wonder if it's really a religious ritual to bring forth their dominance in the universe.

House rules[edit | edit source]

Due to Healer making Masochist's power useless, the Cosmodex suggests either giving Masochist the restriction "Do Not Use with Healer" or giving a player healed by the Healer the option to not have their ships healed.

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.